Thoughts On Starch

zooma

I've been eating a peat style diet for a few months now and I feel like I've made progress which is good. I'm currently drinking around 2L milk a day, 1L orange juice, a carrot and a few others bits (fruit, decent bread, meat, eggs) to make up the calories on a good day.

But I have two problems. Firstly, although I have cut down on liquid a lot, I think I'm still drinking too much. And I'm getting too many days now where i crave solid food, and also probably just some food that isn't sugary.

So I'm looking for opinions on whether dropping orange juice for white rice or pasta on more days will hinder me? I love OJ and still want to drink it on some days but I think this could solve both of my problems. I don't want to mess with the milk because it has been very good for me - a solid source of protein is something I've always had trouble getting enough of as well as being cheap/easy.

I currently don't think there is anything wrong with starch but I want to see if there is anything I'm missing. In the past I have thought it made me feel bad, but I think that was the PUFAs and other nasty things that come packaged with it so often. When I try and think about the most satisfying meals I've had recently (other than a dirty takeaway or two hitting the spot.. ;) ) they have been starch based with saturated fats, decent proteins and spices for taste.

Thanks

OP
Z

zooma

Ha well that is the plan, just wondered if anyone coming from a peat diet had tried it before :)

Here is a good list of starches:

https://www.drmcdougall.com/health/educ ... h-staples/

I don't agree with everything McDougall says but that is a good list to reference. The big illusion about starch for me was eating fat free starch. It is impossible to even comprehend eating potatoes and rice without and oil, butter, or sour cream added to them. But for me, eating fat free starch is working. Potatoes are very nutritious. Peat said that they are almost a perfect food. I agree.