Gut Issues Linked To Thyroid, Pain And Other Symptoms. Advice Welcome

I’ve been lurking on this site for a long time now and have a great respect for Peat and his ideas. I have been battling some health issues for the last five years or so. I have a 28 year old male.

Background

I got very sick five years ago during my Masters degree at University. It was a time of tremendous stress, I picked up smoking, was drinking a bit too much to combat stress and I also allowed the uni nurses to talk me into having the MMR vaccine when beginning my course as they recommended it as a “preventative” measure as the university has a diverse international mix of students—my mother never allowed me to be vaccinated growing up unless absolutely necessary.

My diet at this time was fairly standard eat everything (I was completely oblivious to its impact on health) but my appetite always strong and I was addicted to chilli pepper. Staples were pasta, cheese, cereal with milk, sweets, sandwiches etc.

I had been taking ibuprofen for headaches when it happened. It seemed like I gave myself a stomach ulcer. I had constant burning in my stomach that would not go. I developed cystic acne around my temples and forehead which was persistent and did not go. This lasted a long time until I read online that a way to beat ulcers was cayenne pepper and lemon. I tried this and the constant gnawing went away and so did the acne but I suspect I never fully healed as I was left with a constant dull full-type pain by my right ribcage that still persists to this day. It is very bad in the mornings. I have seen doctors and they do not care.