Why do I have a b1 deficiency?

dervmai

progress
So I just got my updated b1 tests after having supplemented b1 due to a prior b1 deficiency. My updated b1 level is 12. The range is 8-30, so I am still very low in b1. I have been supplementing thiamin HCI 100 mg for roughly 3 months, I slowed down the b1 supplementation before I went to retest. My values are still very low. I am confused why this is happening to me. Is this a gut issue? I'm trying to understand from every possible angle, the reason for my b1 deficiency. I don't know much about it though, I would really appreciate the opinions of people knowledgeable on this forum... my GP just tells me to continue supplementing... and since I am not deficient by the ranges anymore, she can't do much.... plus she wasn't addressing why I was b1 deficient.

PopSocket

So I just got my updated b1 tests after having supplemented b1 due to a prior b1 deficiency. My updated b1 level is 12. The range is 8-30, so I am still very low in b1. I have been supplementing thiamin HCI 100 mg for roughly 3 months, I slowed down the b1 supplementation before I went to retest. My values are still very low. I am confused why this is happening to me. Is this a gut issue? I'm trying to understand from every possible angle, the reason for my b1 deficiency. I don't know much about it though, I would really appreciate the opinions of people knowledgeable on this forum... my GP just tells me to continue supplementing... and since I am not deficient by the ranges anymore, she can't do much.... plus she wasn't addressing why I was b1 deficient.
Do you drink alcohol ?

LucH

Hi,
Thiamin synthesis

Heavy consumption of tannin-containing or food rich in caffeine, theobromine, and theophylline (such as those present in coffee, chocolate, and tea, respectively) can inactivate thiamine, thereby compromising the thiamine status (7, 14, 15).
Source : Neurological, Psychiatric, and Biochemical Aspects of Thiamine Deficiency in Children and Adults