Eating 12 Fried Eggs A Day

Yolama

I eat 12 eggs a day fried with virgin olive oil and topped with mozzarella cheese, but there's several threads here on how eggs are bad due to high PUFA and ***t... I don't really feel sluggish after eating eggs and digest them very well. I'm a poor student and having eggs as my main protein source seems like the cheapest and healthiest way to get protein.

What are your opinions? This Ray Peat guy recommends drinking pasteurized milk and orange juice... His choice of foods seems so odd tbh, but what do I know... Enlighten me

anniejohnson

The unsaturated fats in modern store-bought eggs may be a problem over time, as the fats build up in your tissues. He recommends milk and cheese as protein sources because they contain saturated fats and have a lot of calcium. PUFA is the only real issue with eggs.

Nebula

I’d get tired of 12 eggs per day. On a low budget I would maybe eat about 4 and add in other good proteins and whole foods like potatoes, and try to source quality local dairy, meat, organs, collagenous cuts and eggs. It won’t be dirt cheap, but probably still cheaper than your peers that eat out a lot throughout the week.

I don’t think cheap commercial orange juice is worth consuming as a staple. Freshly squeezed is the only way to go and that would probably be too time consuming and expensive for a student. A few quality whole or frozen fruits would be more affordable.

White rice also isn’t a bad staple to supply some cheap and clean carbs.

One of my favorite cheap dinners is roasted potatoes. Reds, Yukons, sweet potatoes and onions chopped up in the oven in melted butter or olive oil. Very satisfying, I usually don’t even feel like I need any meat with it.

A loaded baked potato with sour cream and cheese is satisfying without meat too.

Last edited:
OP
Yolama

Yolama