My Very Positive Experience And How I Did It

chispas

I feel great eating the Ray Peat way, so I thought I would share a post explaining my understanding of Dr Peat’s views, and what I have done to implement them.

I’ve read (mostly) all of Ray Peat’s work (books and articles both) but I’m not a scientist, and find it all quite challenging to comprehend. Below I have attempted to outline what I understand of Ray Peat’s dietary principles (of which I may be quite wrong), and describe my experience.

What I think Ray Peat says:

1. Low consumption or elimination of PUFA will promote an environment where the organism inclines toward a hyperthyroid state, where the metabolic rate quickens, body temperature increases, mitochondrial respiration is optimal, and available energy is used properly throughout the body.
2. Consumption of easily digestible simple sugars support the complexity of mitochondrial efficiency (as opposed to glycation processes, which are in Peat’s view better suited to “less advanced” organisms, and can be attributed to the formation of ‘advanced-glycation-end-products’, aging and degeneration).
3. Sufficient protein enables proper liver function and amino acid balance, preferably with supplemental use of glycine/gelatine.
4. Sufficient aversion of heavy metals, thyroid-suppressing environmental factors and serotonin-raising foods will make us function better.
5. Sufficient promotion of B-vitamins, fat soluble vitamins, magnesium, and additional ‘mitochondrial uncouplers’ such as aspirin, caffeine, magnesium, fructose, progesterone, thyroid, etc. will also make us function better.

My experience: