*Why* Does Gelatin And Collagen Give Me A Headache And Insomnia?

ReneeAnn

I am a newbie and have been reading through Peat's articles and came across this one:

Gelatin, stress, longevity

I've known how healthy gelatin is for a long time and had it daily for years until I finally found out that it gives me headaches and insomnia. My guess is that it is the glutamate in broth, but I don't know if there is glutamate in Great Lakes collagen (green canister) and it also gives me a headache and insomnia. I even get a slight headache and insomnia from eating fatty roast beef. I'm fine if I carefully trim the fat, which I do.

I really want to heal whatever is stopping me from eating gelatin, so if anyone has any ideas of why it gives me headaches and how to get over it, I would really appreciate it.

Elephanto

Gelatin has twice the arginine of other animal protein sources. That may be why. You could try taking a lysine supplement (competitive inhibitor of arginine) with it to see if it prevents headaches or just use a glycine supplement instead of gelatin.

OP
ReneeAnn

ReneeAnn

Oh! Thank you so much, @Elephanto !!! I'll keep in mind to supplement with glycine if lysine doesn't help me. I *love* soup and would love to be able to have broth again. I'll get some lysine. I don't think I've ever tried that for anything before. Thanks again!

whit

I am a newbie and have been reading through Peat's articles and came across this one:

Gelatin, stress, longevity

I've known how healthy gelatin is for a long time and had it daily for years until I finally found out that it gives me headaches and insomnia. My guess is that it is the glutamate in broth, but I don't know if there is glutamate in Great Lakes collagen (green canister) and it also gives me a headache and insomnia. I even get a slight headache and insomnia from eating fatty roast beef. I'm fine if I carefully trim the fat, which I do.