Lacking vitamin K

Rrr

According to cronometer, my diet's really lacking vitamin K.

I know Ray recommends liver for vitamin K, but I'm a student and my money situation just doesn't allow expensive products like that. What I need is a cheap and easy vitamin K source. I'd rather eat real food than supplements, but if there aren't any safe and cheap food sources I'll just have to be content with supplementing it. : )

Green veggies aren't really recommended here, but would broccoli or kale be "okay" if they are cooked properly? Anything else?

Thanks in advance for any replies and advice. : )

-R

tara

Goodness, if liver is too expensive for you, I wonder how you are managing to get other good food too. Where I am, liver is one of the cheapest cuts of meat, and you don't need to eat very much of it to get the benefits. Well cooked kale broth can provide some (where I am, that would cost more than liver), and Peat has sometimes suggested it as an occasional supplement of vit-K and minerals.
Thorne K2 costs quite a few dollars, but a bottle can last several months, depending on how you dose it.

jyb

Lamb liver is cheap in my area. Not surprisingly given the taste. Calves liver costs more, but cheap when taking into account that its only a weekly food. Unfortunately, it will be difficult to get information about K2 content of those various foods because not many people care about them, and in addition maybe it varies with animal, location, time of year, diet etc.

High quality dairy products should be high in K2. For example in the fat of whole milk of pastured cows. I know this from the time I was experimenting with aspirin, and drinking quality milk would solve the K2 depleting effect of aspirin. The usual store milk (even organic) did not do that, I'm guessing its poor in K2 and other nutrients.

narouz

I was thinking the same thing about liver's cost.
I've never bought it at the regular American markets--