How To Decrease Serotonin? I'm A Little Confused

alexander101

Okay, So going through Dr. Peat's material this is what I came up with as things that will lower serotonin levels:
- one raw carrot per day
- gelatin --> glycine content can counteract? serotonin - (but i love the idea of glycine as an inhibitory anti-anxiety agent)
- caffeine

So I bought i glycine supplement (15g), because I assumed this would be useful - but after taking it i feel extremely nauseated.

How do I incorporate glycine from gelatin? What foods do I eat that are high in gelatin (and therefore glycine)?
Does a cup of JELL-O contain a decent amount of glycine? What else can I eat (and if you say bone broth, please go into a bit more detail because I don't quite comprehend the concept... sorry I'm just new to everything here lol)

My end goal is to reduce serotonin and cortisol, because I'm dealing with anxiety.
I drank coffee today and it gave me a sense of calm (ironic because caffeine is supposed to be bad for anxiety).

tara

Welcome alexander101 :)

The idea with gelatine is that it has little or no tryptophan in it. Tryptophan being the amino acid that is required for the body to synthesise tryptophan. We need a little tryptophan, but not much, and muscle meats have quite a lot of it. So eating gelatine can help provide useful protein without too much of the tryptophan. Glycine, which gelatine has a lot of, has lots of useful roles in the body.

I find coffee calming too (but I get messed up if I get too much caffeine) - it varies a lot from person to person. Coffee provides some good nutrients, and can help stimulate cellular energy production. Low cellular energy production is the root of many health problems, and can make us feel anxious.