Exercise and Daily Activity with a Weighted Vest

Blossom

Forum Supporter
I’ve been using a weighted vest for the last 3 years as part of my plan to help prevent age related muscle and bone loss. I’m really convinced it’s in the top 3 things I’ve done for my overall health. The vest I wear is 15% of my body weight but when I started it was 10% and I wear it when I go for walks or when hiking. I also often wear it when doing housework. I find it to be very beneficial in building strength and stamina. I was wondering if anyone else here uses a weighted vest and has any input-positive or negative?

akgrrrl

I do the same with ankle and wrist weights. Even wearing for a normal day doing housework, shopping/schlepping supplies into the house, it makes me deliciously tired so I sleep great!

Old Irenaeus

Thanks so much for posting this. I have a weighted vest and had forgotten all about it. Time to vest up!

Peatful

I think one needs to be aware that the vest compresses the spine
And if form is wrong or muscle fatigue a factor- anatomically it can cause stress or torque etc on joints, tendons, cartilage…or unnecessary wear

OP
Blossom

Blossom

Forum Supporter
Thanks everyone. I didn’t receive any notifications that there were replies to this thread!
I had no idea that it compresses the spine @Funnywhensunny. I wonder if there’s a threshold to when this becomes becomes a negative?

I can definitely feel when I’ve had enough but I’m also drawn to wear wearing it at times. I suppose there is an aspect of balance as with everything.

yerrag

Thanks everyone. I didn’t receive any notifications that there were replies to this thread!
I had no idea that it compresses the spine @Funnywhensunny. I wonder if there’s a threshold to when this becomes becomes a negative?

I can definitely feel when I’ve had enough but I’m also drawn to wear wearing it at times. I suppose there is an aspect of balance as with everything.