Reverse osmosis not optimal for filtration?

frankmp0

This is something I've been thinking about. The claims about R.O. seem mixed and inconsistent. It filters pesticides, but it might not filter them completely. It filters nitrates, but it might not filter them completely. Personally, when I drank reverse osmosis water a couple months ago that I bought from whole foods, it tasted incredibly flat, no minerals.

Personally, I don't see ANY advantage to using reverse osmosis, when you could just distill and then remineralize. I think it's entirely possible that it might be letting certain contaminants through.

I am by no means an expert here, and this is not a very well informed post, just wanted to get a discussion going.

What do you guys think?

S.Holmes

This is something I've been thinking about. The claims about R.O. seem mixed and inconsistent. It filters pesticides, but it might not filter them completely. It filters nitrates, but it might not filter them completely. Personally, when I drank reverse osmosis water a couple months ago that I bought from whole foods, it tasted incredibly flat, no minerals.

Personally, I don't see ANY advantage to using reverse osmosis, when you could just distill and then remineralize. I think it's entirely possible that it might be letting certain contaminants through.

I am by no means an expert here, and this is not a very well informed post, just wanted to get a discussion going.

What do you guys think?
Here is a thread about the best ways to purify water. Distilled Water

GTW