Gaining Muscle Olympic Weightlifting With Peat-style Nutrition

chispas

Hi, I am new to the forum! Looking forward to sharing with anyone who cares my experiences employing some of Peat's nutritional ideas to the cause of getting stronger at olympic weightlifting (I am a beginner - been training about a year with a proper olympic coach, no crossfit).

There's a lot of bro-science around regarding satisfying the body's recovery needs post-exercise, however I've been inspired by Peat's ideas, as well as those of the Bulgarian weightlifting school where weightlifters "recovered" on a diet of mostly sugary American candy products. I find this very interesting, and also a little hard to believe, but then reading Peat's ideas made it seem as though there could be an element of truth to it all.

Anyways, I've designed an eating program of approximately 3500 calories - listed below, might be interesting or useful for anyone attempting the same. I've already been employing many of Peat's recommendations (such as the regular fruit, salt, coffee - easy to obtain good quality fruit in Australia), and this makes me feel fantastic. In my experience, doing weightlifting training powered by fructose or sucrose is a ticket to a stress-free workout, with high strength output. The difference has been so startling, that I have decided to implement some of Peat's ideas a bit more comprehensively and seriously. I'm going to log changes and provide photos as I go along and progress, and hopefully get some good results that are Peat-worthy!

I've already read a couple of threads on the forum about weightlifting/muscle gaining - feel free to post any questions or comments about my methods/training/diet. Also the protein powder is this one (high leucine, low tryptophan and methionine): http://nutritionscience.com.au/product/ ... onal-facts