Instant Coffee Options in Australia

AlaskaJono

Thanks for the suggestions both of you.

My only concern with the filtering was in regards to bleach or other contaminants but I will give this a try and see how it goes.

I was doing some reading yesterday and apparently companies are allowed up to 10% of the grounds to contain insects etc (which is commonly cockroaches?). I hope this is just a myth, not sure the validity of it.
Hey Omen, which city are you in? or nearby in OZ? I have some contacts .... . Which might help...might not.

But definitely do keep experimenting. Paper filters do some of this filtering as @GTW stated, I totally agree. This method is simple and direct. Ground coffee into paper filter inside some funnel, and Voilà! Try this same coffee with cold brew method - which is more acidity reducing, and you have a great experiment.

Also, I have been buying green beans for almost 20 years and no insects also. Some tiny stones sometimes, but rare.

OP
O

Omen

As I read somewhere, pesticide residues in coffee are denatured by roasting. So much for insects. 10% seems extreme. When I buy green coffee beans I don't see any. Good hyperbolic sales pitch if you want to one-up the competition.
Read the fine print on coffee paper filters. Oxy bleach/hydrogen peroxide or percarbonate generated bleach should not be problematic. Unbleached brown paper gave a flavor I did not like.
Interesting. The filters I was looking at (unbleached) are brown paper so that's unfortunate. I might try them and if I don't like them try another.

Looking at trying these:

OP
O

Omen

Hey Omen, which city are you in? or nearby in OZ? I have some contacts .... . Which might help...might not.