An increase in time perception speed

Explorer

Hey everyone

I turn 22 in summer

I noticed in last 1-2 years especially since covid happened time feels as it speeds up yearly way more than it did before

I graduated HS in 2020 at peak of covid lockdowns and in 2020-2021 time still felt somewhat normal and I felt mentally busier

However last year and this year it feels as if time perception is literally speeding up

As if the seasonal differentiation is reducing, like the whole 4 seasons feel more like one mix

It all started around 2020

Before that things literally felt slower, I could fit in more thoughts/activities in a day and so on

Pedigree

metabolism has been shown to effect one's perception of time and anecdotally I can say this to be very true, perfectly exemplified by low doses of LSD

engaging in mindless activities like scrolling will speed time up but this itself could be seen as downstream from having a slower metabolism, resorting to cheap dopamine because you're not in an energetically wealthy state or have an unstimulating environment

my advice would be to try something new, what about a job? a new environment can be great for breaking through some learned helplessness

TheSir

To me it seems like even the seconds on the clock go by quicker than they did when I was a child. How's your health? I wonder if poor health results in fewer 'frames' of consciousness per second, leading to accelerated perception of time. It definitely seems biological in one way or another, as I've done drugs that make minutes feel like hours. Perhaps the reason old people move so slow from our point of view is that their reality is so accelerated from their point of view?

Peater

Does it matter if we 'feel' things as slow or fast? Surely the quality of each moment is the important point.

HeyThere