Aspirin for insulin resistance while low-carbing

Stac3y

Hi everyone,

I am new to the Ray Peat "system," and I am very interested in some aspects of the approach. I found the forum while researching thyroid glandular supplements, and as I began browsing, I came across many new concepts and supplements. One thing in particular about which I would be grateful for people's input is about aspirin on a low carb diet.

To give you some background, I am a woman in my 30s plagued with fatigue. My thyroid panel came back normal (though I am anemic), but I started taking Thyro-Gold last week (I plan on switching to Thyroid-S), so too early to speak of improvement. Every woman in my family has a thyroid problem, and I have every single symptom, so I thought it would be worth a try. I have been on a low carb diet (atkins) for over a year, but I have gained between 15-20lbs. I've done this diet several times in the past, and have lost weight, but this time, my body is packing on the pounds. I am highly sensitive to sugars, eating an orange gives me a head rush.

I suspect that I am insulin resistant, and I have to cut carbs down to 10grams for my body to go into ketosis. I am sure that the past 15 years of yo-yo dieting contributed to the insulin resistance, and, now I am dealing with the results. After reading many posts, it sounds like it is the concentration of PUFAs in the Atkins diet that may also be contributing. This is a revelation to me, as I take flax seed and evening primrose oil. So, I am stopping that and only using coconut oil and a little bit of olive oil.

What I would like to know is if anyone can speak to the use of aspirin for insulin resistance while low carbing? Some of the aspirin threads have left me a bit nervous, and I did not see many people reporting a significant change with aspirin as a supplement. I would like to be able to eat lentils, tomatoes, and some fruit at some point in my life, but I need to address why my body is so resistant.