Just Learned From Experience Bicarbonate Intake Isn't the Real Solution, May Even Cause Problems

yerrag

I've been taking magnesium bicarbonate as my preferred form of magnesium for a few years now. I've even recommended it in some posts. I've been harsh on magnesium chloride because it is an acidic load. But the past 2 weeks I've started to observe my urination - the frequency of it and its pH. And I've learned, among other things, that magnesium bicarbonate supplementation has its gotchas. My observations are not necessarily conclusions, as I don't have enough of a sample size, and certainly the evidence-based (RCT studies etc etc) guys here would have plenty of ammo to refute what I observe. But nonetheless, I will post them and I'll take flak for it.

I've taken sodium, magnesium, and potassium bicarbonate. And I've had no bad experience with them in the past. At least none that I could observe. But when I decided to find out why I was urinating so much, and why my urine pH would fluctuate so much, I was surprised that it had a lot to do with my supplementation of magnesium bicarbonate.

When I was on 400mg elemental Mg on magbicarb supplementation daily, I was urinating 12x/day. When I stopped it, I reduced my urination frequency to 9x/day. I woke up 1-2x/night instead of 3-4/night. Not only that. when I was on this, the urine pH would fluctuate from 5.5 to 6.8, whereas when I wasn't on it, the pH would fluctuate from 6.2 to 6.8 - which really surprised me.

What could be confounders is that when I began magbicarb-less, I also began to take a drop of Tyronene once after each meal, with the aim of improving my blood sugar metabolism, as I had taken a recent 5 hr OGTT (oral glucose tolerance test) and found that my blood sugar regulation was off. It could very well be that with improved blood sugar metabolism, I was making more CO2 and less lactic acid.