Concerned about enamel drinking OJ

Bodhi

Folks,

As some of u know i'm quite new to Peating and the more i read about it the more i'm convinced it is IT!

Though still struggling with my "OLD" conditionings especially related to OJ...

In the Naturapathic views OJ is to acidic for the body thus breaking down minerals and more important most dentist warn about harming tooth enamel ....

What is your experience/opinion about this and what does Ray says about this?

I recently saw Ray Peat on a video and i think he looks great for 77 and although i know he ruined his teeth with something else i was still a bit shocked to see his teeth and wonder if it is not caused bij al the OJ's ..

If someone is so focussed and experienced and a "GURU' in good health why would Ray Peat not have his teeth fixed?

Thanks allot from someone with great teeth and likes to keep them!

Bodhi

YuraCZ

Bodhi said:
In the Naturapathic views OJ is to acidic for the body thus breaking down minerals

Bodhi
oh boy.. :pray
Citrus fruit juice as a fluid is acidic. BUT for the body they become alkaline.. What a ignorance. :roll:

mt_dreams

I would imagine Ray would be more focused on health/strength of teeth, not necessarily how white they are. Keeping teeth pure white seems to be a modern day obsession.

If you are concerned about oj's acid effect on teeth, you can do several things to combat this.
Drink through a straw.
Add alkali minerals to oj before drinking (sodium bi-carb for ex, would work) to make it less acidic.
keep some sodium bi carb liquid near by and swish out your mouth after drinking the oj.

oh and body acidity has to do with things like pral & kidney health, etc, not acidic fruit (which actually turn the body more alkaline like yuraCZ pointed out above).

Suikerbuik

To be fair, organic acids can be acidic to a body when not metabolized properly. If you do metabolize them well they will be converted into CO2.