Update On My Tooth Situation

Iron Man

I wanted to give an update and ask some further questions about my situation...

I have had an issue with a tooth for some time now and this week I went to the Dentist for his opinion and full X-Ray.

The X-Ray shows "halos" around the root of the suspected tooth and there appears to be a "halo" forming on the root of the tooth behind the suspect one. The Dentist said the "halo" is an infection and I have an abscess. The Dentist basically said this was bad news and that I am faced with either an extraction or a root canal. The Dentist prescribed me with penicillin to fight the infection, so I am on to this now. This week the pain in the tooth ramped up and I have woken up with it hurting (lying down seems to make it worse).