The Science Speaks For Itself - A Newbie Here :)

Justysmom

Hi

I spent the last few days reading everything I could get my hands on that was "Ray Peat" It all just makes sense and if only everyone would follow this protocol the Docs and Big Pharma would be out of business but I digress...

I think I have the grasp of what and what not to eat but my only dilemma is that I am by choice and for ethical reasons a vegetarian. I love potatoes though which is good and dairy so hoping that would give me enough protein without having to add gelatin. I am wondering if there are others on the forum with the same dilemma? Would love to hear how you deal with this.

My issue is not so much thyroid (seems to be working well so far) but rather estrogen dominance since going in to menopause and have ordered the Progest E but really want to follow the rest of the protocol so I can feel at my best. This looks like an awesome forum with a lot of knowledgeable people posting, so glad to be a part of it.
Cheers,

Monicka

J

j.

I guess take a bunch of supplements for the nutrients you don't get due to not eating animals.

Vitamin mk4, for example, which is obtained via nutrition exclusively from animals, is made however in laboratory from some parts of the tobacco plant, if I recall correctly, so in this case the vitamin k won't be made from animals sources, even though traditionally we only get it from animals. I think some others to watch out for are vitamin A and B12.

Mittir

Estrogen blocks thyroid function. If you have estrogen dominance it is very likely you have
low thyroid function. He also does not like people calling his recommendations as protocol.
He makes recommendation based on scientific studies. He has not written any official diet book yet.
He once commented on Indian vegetarian diet. He thinks a vegetarian diet based on
dairy and fruits is really healthy. You will need a good source of vitamin A. He recommends