Synaptamide, Neuron Growth, DHA

Kingpinguin

schultz

I'd be interested in hearing what he thinks as well. I glanced through the study, and another similar paper, and it appears to be protective, but I am no expert (obviously) and am unable to critique it properly. I wonder if it acts similar to other ethanolamines like diphenhydramine? There was also some protection against LPS.

OP
Kingpinguin

Kingpinguin

Synaptamide, endocannabinoid-like derivative of docosahexaenoic acid with cannabinoid-independent function. - PubMed - NCBI

The brain synaptamide content is dependent on the dietary DHA intake, suggesting an endogenous mechanism whereby diets containing adequate amounts of omega-3 fatty acids improve synaptogenesis in addition to well-recognized anti-inflammatory effects.

A synaptogenic amide N-docosahexaenoylethanolamide promotes hippocampal development. - PubMed - NCBI

This is supported by the observation that DHA is converted to DEA by fetal mouse hippocampal neuron cultures and a hippocampal homogenate, and DEA is present endogenously in the mouse hippocampus. Furthermore, DEA stimulates neurite growth and synaptogenesis at substantially lower concentrations than DHA, and it enhances glutamatergic synaptic activities with concomitant increases in synapsin and glutamate receptor subunit expression in the hippocampal neurons. These findings suggest that DEA, an ethanolamide derivative of DHA, is a synaptogenic factor, and therefore we suggest utilizing the term 'synaptamide'.

as suggested for years DHA has been known to boost brain function and neuron growth. There similair studies where they see combination of DHA and uridine improves this even more than any of them alone. Guess the mechanics of this well documented effects of DHA are now being brought to light.
Would also explain why DHA content is higher in areas of the body with lots of neurons/nerves like the brain and retina