Carnivore diet possibly triggering thyroid issues

chococat

Forum Supporter
I’ve been adhering to a carnivore diet for the past 2 months ( I am planning to transition off of it very soon), and within the past three weeks or so, I have noticed that about 20-30 minutes after I eat I have a tenderness around my throat that migrates to the ears and I get extremely fatigued for hours. Headaches and high body temperature as well.
These symptoms strike me as thyroid related. This is odd to me because if anything I’ve heard that carnivore diets help people improve their thyroid conditions, at least initially. I can’t really find anyone online that had an experience like this with the carnivore diet besides myself. In any case, this experience is reinforcing the importance of carbs to me.

OP
chococat

chococat

Forum Supporter
Small update: I had leftovers from the meal that triggered this episode earlier ( ground turkey cheese and sour cream), but I also had a bit of cooked kale ( my first vegetable in months) and I’m feeling alright.

wzuo

Carnivore/keto/paleo diet whatever you call it ruined my thyroid completely. And I was avoiding PUFAs by coincidence anyway - used only butter and coconut oil. Also I have avoided pork.
Wish I was never on that shitty diet…

Greyfox

I did carnivore for 3 months once and while i did have improvements, I now attribute the improvements to the removal of starches. Not carbs in general. Also after a while I started noticing alarming signs of aging, especially in my hands. the skin was thinner and had more wrinkles. It was the chronically low insulin and sugar levels, causing my skin to look less plump. After I permitted myself some junk food with sugar for the first time one christmas, I'm pretty sure I came close to having a stroke. My skin did fill back out again after resuming sugar though.

Blossom

Forum Supporter