I Am New To Ray Peat And I Have Some Questions

Francisco

I have recently decided to go Peat-o mode and thought I’d post my current diet, my dietary history, issues I’m hoping to remedy, and how I’m feeling so far.
I’m here looking for advice, so feel free to give me some.

This will be a long post, so I understand if I don’t get many replies. Feel free to skip to the diet section if you don’t want to read all this.

Background:

So, for about 2 years now I’ve been on a long and confusing journey through the world of diet and nutrition. There have been many foibles and misadventures up to this point, but I feel as if I’m on the right track.
I was on the low-carb bandwagon from January of this year until very recently. I started making significant changes to my diet almost two years ago when I decided to cut dairy out and severely restrict sugar and carbs overall. My reason for doing this was that I had severe acne at the time and had heard that dairy and sugar can be major triggers. I hardly deviated from this restrictive regimen until around summer of last year when I began eating some fruits in small quantities, as well as brown rice and occasionally bread. I was still very wary of dairy and would only consume greek yoghurt and butter every now and again. The foods I ate during this time were mostly green smoothies, nut butters (I became quite the connoisseur), granola (sometimes), Clif bars (often one a day), and I would eat out at Chipotle or get cheap sushi from a supermarket near me. I understood little about food quality (I didn’t even understand what organic actually meant until last year), and honestly I didn’t care too much. Looking back now I realize that my diet was pretty bad, but at the time I didn’t feel too terrible; although my health would continue to get worse as my diet became more restrictive.