Dealing With Hypopituitarism

alunddk

Hi all,

Last year I went under a brain surgery for a pituitary tumor.
The doctors damaged my pituitary under the surgery. And after surgery I have been on the medicine for Euthyrox ever since.

Im in the situation, where I really cant loose weight - No matter what I tried.
My diet consists of lean meats for grass-fed animals, and tons of greens and fruits.
Currently Im doing cardio and strength training every day. But so far no luck.

I've went from 69 kg to 110 kg today.

Do any of you have some tips on alternate methods or am I doing something wrong ?

Kind regards,
Anders

tara

I am not sure I quite understand - you are doing strength training, so I imagine you would be wanting to gain some weight from that, but perhaps you have gained more than you wanted.

I'm sorry you got damage from surgery.
I am no expert, but I suspect that if you can get appropriate thyroid supplementation, I think there may be a good chance that will help a lot.
I think euthyrox may be a T4-only medicine? My impression from reading, is that getting the right doses can be quite individual, that some people have difficulty adequately converting T4 to the active T3 that the cells need to produce energy, and so some people do much better if they can supplement some T3 as well as T4. I think a healthy thyroid gland tends to secrete them in a ratio of ~1:4 T3:T4. Peat has said some people who need it benefit from ratios up to 1:2. I'm not sure what would happen in your situation, with damaged pituitary, but in other situations, peoople have been known to become more hypothyroid (symptom-wise) with T4 only supplementation. But some people do fine with it, so it could be a matter of you just not getting enough yet.
T4 has a long half life, and takes about two weeks to stabilise in the blood at a steady daily dosage. T3 has a much shorter half life, so if using it, small doses multiple times a day may be more useful.