Study: Inflammation and depression symptoms are most strongly associated for Black adults

strongvirtue

Ineresting article by Dr. George Slavich.
1670523901521.png

P

Peatress

From the article

These data thus point to a biological process that may help to explain disparities in mental health outcomes across race/ethnicity in the United States. At the same time, additional research is needed to understand the social and structural factors driving these effects.

I am reminded of a recent article by the BBC

When I read it I couldn't understand how they came to that conclusion. What do I know I'm not a doctor.

mostlylurking

These data thus point to a biological process that may help to explain disparities in mental health outcomes across race/ethnicity in the United States. At the same time, additional research is needed to understand the social and structural factors driving these effects.
Ineresting article by Dr. George Slavich.
Well, yeah. Aren't dark skinned people more likely to be vitamin D deficient?
and here's the connection between vitamin D deficiency and c-reactive protein:

P

Peatress

Well, yeah. Aren't dark skinned people more likely to be vitamin D deficient?
and here's the connection between vitamin D deficiency and c-reactive protein:
In which case we would expect to find these conditions in every group that is vitamin D deficient.

P

Peatress

This sentence is confusing to me; kindly rephrase.
This is from the dementia article I posted.

The UCL research followed nearly 300,000 people who took part in the UK Biobank study for up to 14 years.
During that time, about 6,000 people developed dementia - most were white, 91 were black and 79 were South Asian.
Despite the small number affected in black and South Asian groups, the study found that the same factors increased the risk of dementia in all three ethnic groups,