KMUD: Hair Loss, Inflammation and Osteoporosis (2012)

loess

Raymond Peat, Ph.D.

HAIR LOSS, INFLAMMATION AND OSTEOPOROSIS
KMUD “Ask Your Herb Doctor” (2012)

HD - Andrew Murray and Sarah Johannesen-Murray
RP - Ray Peat

HD: Dr Peat, could you please let listeners know about your academic background?

RP: I studied biology at the University of Oregon, specializing in physiology, especially reproductive physiology and quite a bit of biochemistry. But I considered myself an old-fashioned biologist, pre molecular biology in my way of thinking.

HD: I know you've spent a lot of time looking at hormones as a mode of activating our own bodies' mechanisms.

RP: Yeah, my dissertation was on the effects of hormones on oxidative metabolism in relation to aging of the reproductive system.

HD: Why do men develop male pattern baldness? And is it due to testosterone?

RP: I think the belief in testosterone as the cause is similar to the old belief that males got prostate cancer because of having testosterone — since males get a particular kind of baldness, it's easy to blame it on testosterone, but in fact there is no evidence showing that excess testosterone is responsible for it, anymore than excess testosterone causes prostate cancer. So that's where the idea of increased sensitivity came in, because there was no evidence of too much of the hormone...

HD: Right, but you did say that when they measured the blood levels of men with lots of hair and men with no hair at all on their head, the levels of testosterone were not important, so the best they could come up with was that their cells had a sensitivity to testosterone.