Why Doesn't Coffee Affect Me Normally?

Ellie18

This is sort of a random post, but something I've been wondering for a while and didn't know if anyone has felt the same way. So I was never a coffee drinker before learning about Ray Peat (2-3 months ago) because I was sensitive to caffeine. Every time I would drink coffee, or even half a monster/redbull I would get an extremely fast heart beat and anxiety, but no steady energy. Now since I've been drinking coffee for a few months (started with a half a cup in the morning now I drink a cup every morning) I no longer get the jittery heart beat, but I don't get energy from it either. i drank a full red bull the day before yesterday, and a rockstar yesterday (something I've never done before) and I didn't feel any different after either. Since coffee is healthy and tastes good I still drink it, but I've never gotten energy from caffeine, its just like drinking juice or water or something.

I've noticed that I react differently to other things too though, like MJ for instance, while it makes all my friends feel relaxed, hungry, and tired even, I would always get very high anxiety, not be hungry, and would get a lump in my throat sort of feeling. And with a prescription drug called tramadol (opiod) while its supposed to be a downer, every time I take it, it makes me feel awake, alert and peaceful. Not high, just how I think I should feel normally.. Certainly does more than antidepressants ever did but I rarely take it now, only when my back pain is horrible.
Sorry to deviate from coffee at the end, admins let me know if I should post this somewhere else please.

Can anyone think of why someone would react so differently to things than most people?

milk_lover

Do you drink coffee after a meal? Usually that's the best time to drink coffee.

OP
Ellie18

Ellie18

Do you drink coffee after a meal? Usually that's the best time to drink coffee.