Who's Into Social Psychology?

Makrosky

I loved this article. It's all about cortisol and how it influences your social status. Who isn't interested in that?

http://decisionlab.harvard.edu/_con...._Leadership_Associated_with_Lower_Stress.pdf

When I studied Social Psychology in the Psychology Faculty, we never talked about hormones or biochemical things. The assumption was that science itself is a social construction, it's not true in itself. And how we obey authorities (wether scientific or not) is very determined by how the human psyche works, not because of how much serotonin or cortisol one has. We studied authors like Milgram, Moscovici, Foucault, Leo Festinger, Kenneth Gergen, Zimbardo, etc.

Nevertheless, the study you posted...hmmm.... I haven't read it entirely but, do they take into account the fact that "leaders" can have much less stress because of a myriad of intrinsic factors to their position ? Like : better paid, more holidays, more opportunities to develop your ideas, to grow professionally, etc. ?

Cheers

OP
Luann

Luann

They do have more vacation time, better pay, respect; but then again, leaders are also exposed to lots of conditions that would be very stressful. Like reviews, responsibility, public speaking, performance expectation.

I think cortisol has something to do with how we determine who actually has authority.

Makrosky

They do have more vacation time, better pay, respect; but then again, leaders are also exposed to lots of conditions that would be very stressful. Like reviews, responsibility, public speaking, performance expectation.

I think cortisol has something to do with how we determine who actually has authority.
Good point. I don't really think social authority and the submission to it depends on cortisol, wether there's an ultimate reflection of the cortisol ammount of the organism.

Last edited:

Greg says

8MXFzmg.png

Simonsays