Where to start / what to do?

coolrunnings

Hi all

I'm a 27 year old guy looking to up my health and improve my body composition. I would like to join the military in a year or 2 and need to get my weight down and my fitness up. I currently work in finance so can't afford any brain fog during the day.

I would gladly pay Ray the consultation fee to hear from him for an hour but he seems hard to contact these days. There is so much secondary information floating around out there I'm not really sure what to believe / follow...and I feel like Ray would prescribe something slightly different for everyone. It's a little frustrating.

Bit of background

Played college soccer, never had any real health issues except minor GERD, ate whatever I wanted, maintained 190-200lbs (6'2) with 15-18% bodyfat (hydrostatic). So I had c.165lbs of lean mass.

After college, moved to the UK and started working full time in a very stressful job. Started gaining weight (up to 220) then started a 1300 / calorie a day diet...lost all of the weight (mid 2010). Kept it off for 6 months or so but slowly gained it back. Essentially been on a yo-yo diet ever since (ie 1-2 weeks of hardcore restrictive dieting followed by a binge then several months off).

Now

I'm 27, 225lbs, 28-30% bodyfat (155 - 160lbs lean mass), and was always convinced that paleo was the way to go and once I went paleo the weight would fall off... but never actually got around to going paleo for more than a week or 2 before I succumbed to temptation, binge, etc. However, I was a little disconcerted that my status quo seemed to be a slow and steady fat gain / muscle loss. I also NEVER ate breakfast and always had a huge lunch. Perpetual sweet tooth craving sugar, candy, sour stuff, etc.