What's with the COVID-19 hospitalizations?

LUH 3417

I work in a hospital, not direct patient care, but with patient charts.
There are a lot of COVID patients, most are unvaccinated according to the documentation I read, just a few are vaccinated.

The reason these patients present to the hospital is that they cant catch their breathe/hypoxia. Most have
O2 concentrations in the mid high 80's by the time they get themselves to the emergency room.
Most presented to an urgent care clinic or their physicians office and given some meds(steroids, abx) and sent home,
then their breathing got worse and they present to the ED a few days later.

The huge difference I see this year is that the patients are younger, many in their 40's and 50's even 30s, whereas last
year it was 60's and up. Most do have a comorbity, either diabetic or obese. The youngest patient was
17 and obese. This is also different from last year where most had many comorbidities. Now, just either being obese
or diabetic will suffice to make COVID severe. There are also some patients who have no comorbidities, just covid and it
was severe enough to make them hypoxic, but most do have at least one comorbidity.

Most are also sent home with oxygen until they fully recover because they are still not breathing at their normal capacity by the time of discharge.
Most are also not intubated, but placed on nasal cannulas.

Much worse than last year.
I was working in a hospital as a nurse up until this week. I encountered patients who would tell me they had received either 1 or both doses of the vaccine but it was not documented anywhere in their chart. A lot of vaccination sites have been in stadiums, tent set ups, schools, churches. People are not going to the hospital to get vaccinated and their EMR is not updated with their correct vaccination status.

Perry Staltic