WHAT do I ask my BUTCHER if I need the most gelatinous cuts of meat?

JamesGatz

The gelatin powder I've been using for the past two years changed their formula recently because their new bottle makes me SICK

I want to EXPERIMENT - I've seen people on here getting GELATINOUS cuts of meat from the butcher (Example: Lamb Shanks)

But I REALLY DON'T KNOW what to specifically ask for if I need the most gelatinous cuts of meat

Can someone help me out here with a LIST of different examples of cuts of meat I can ask my butcher for that are gelatinous? THANK YOU

OP
JamesGatz

JamesGatz

Thank you guys 🙏🙏🙏

Im going to see if I could try 3 of these options tonight, hopefully it gets the job done because If not I got to make my own broth which is a lot more work

PeatBull

I accidentaly found out that the cheek piece (dont know how that cut is named) is very very gelatinous. You can oven then for a couple of hours in some broth and then make tacos, its my star recipe.

-Luke-

Shoulder too, no?

Cheeks are amazing if cooked right.

yerrag

Go to Chinatown and buy beef tendons or pork tendons or chicken feet or the head of grouper (fish)

AlaskaJono

For bone broth I ask for Joint bones, cut up into 3rds, to get the knee capsule, etc. . Also has the marrow. Also neck bones are good to add if I don't have enough.
OX tail also excellent, as mentioned.
Cheeks are fantastic, slow cooked for 4 -6 hours. MMMMMmmmmmmm.

Nfinkelstein

These suggestions are mostly good BUT --- oxtail is often hard to come by, as are beef cheeks, as they represent such a small part of a cow. The absolute winner for collagen (gelatin is just collagen once cooked) is SKIN, i.e. pork skin, which is cheap and you'll find it at any meat shop frequented by Mexicans. You can then make your own pork rinds and you will love them if you do it right, it's not that hard. If you're jewish or muslim I guess this won't work, but otherwise, enjoy.

Sapien