Unhealthy and Confused College Student, major bloating

A

alicia_deflores

Hi! I am a huge believer in the Ray Peat lifestyle. The only problem is that it seems like the Ray Peat way of living is very strict, and so I feel very lost and confused about what to do and get very discouraged when I feel like I'm getting off track. I really like Ray Peat's ideas, but I don't know how to follow it. I'm looking for ideas on how to move forward with this. :)

I am a college student living on campus, so there is not many healthy food options. I do buy food at Kroger every week, but don't have a lot of money to spend or time/resources to prepare meals.

My biggest problem is that I have very severe bloating. It seems that it gets the worst when I am stressed out, but it's always there especially after I eat. Sometimes it gets worse after I drink milk, but it seems like everything makes it worse. It used to get worse for the whole two weeks before starting my period, but I started on an anti-depressant/anti-anxiety medication and now it seems like there is no pattern.

I also have a hard time turning off stress. It seems like no matter how many breathing exercises I do, it doesn't get better. I'm always tense or my jaw is clenched. Even when I notice this, I can't stop it.\

Is there anything I can do to help these two problems and not have to spend a lot of money and time?

FredSonoma

I'm also a college student! I would say the basics are:

Avoid PUFA!!!! This makes eating out difficult, but it basically means avoiding ANYTHING cooked in vegetable oils - cook yourself with butter / coconut oil
~100 g protein / day
Calcium:phosphate ratio (getting more protein from dairy than meats)
Amino acid balance (getting plenty of gelatin from cooking down bones / pork feet / Great Lakes Gelatin)
Eating lots of sugar!!!! As much as you wants - in general eat till your full don't restrict!!!!!!