Tried switching from ACTH to thyroid and having trouble

kineticz

Hi

I'm a newbie from the UK, just turning 26 on Monday.

I've suffered from hypogonadism (13.5 on a scale 9-28) and all the problems with adrenal fatigue/low cortisol. I have all the hallmarks of being an undermethylator and SAM-e has been a huge help.

Hope was restored when I first tried DHEA tablets but it boosted my already high ACTH and freed up all my limited testosterone leading to adrenal suppression and chronically low testosterone. It took me over a year to feel semi normal again. No test boosters worked.

In the last three months I came across theories regarding pregnenolone cream. I applied it, and everything improved, including cortisol and testosterone, but I hit a stalemate.

I came across literature stating that lowering estrogen and increasing progesterone and thyroid would be the optimum route. I have been using an aromatase inhibitor and it seems to increase tension in my neck and is an incredible strain on my adrenals. I read by a Dr that serotonin (estrogen's main neuro) promotes TRH, so why does Dr Ray Peat claim that serotonin is bad for metabolism?

I tried progesterone cream and besides the first application, it drastically dried my skin out, made me look 20 years older and very cranky.

I then tried vitamin A and it caused major hypothyroidism symptoms, which I later read was perhaps the wrong type of vitamin A.

Now pregnenolone cream just makes me spacey and aggressive, I read many of the symptoms of excess DHT relate to what I'm feeling but how is this possible? Or could it be excess cortisol shutting everything down?

Overall I have low E2, pregnenolone cream just seems to shut me down even more, and I've developed eye floaters, and pain around my liver. I read that E2 is necessary for a healthy liver so again I ask why Dr Peat is so anti-estrogen.