Transitioning from Fruitarian to Peaty - GERD

Ellycat11

Has anyone struggled with developing pre existing GERD when switching from either a vegan or fruitarian diet back to eating dairy, eggs and protein? I’ve been eating pro metabolic for 7 months.

I was a fruitarian for two years and my GERD disappeared but it’s back and have been told by other Peaty people that it’s probably low stomach acid (from being a fruitarian and vegan for so long) that’s created a low stomach acid environment. I’ve been told it can take years to properly digest dairy, eggs and protein again. Any vague advice I’ve gotten is just to take HCL, Betaine etc. in the mean time???

I’ve also experienced some strange mood swings mostly being irritated to the point of anger but I’m thinking this is probably due to the GERD popping up again just creating more stress and anxiety.

If anyone from a GERD or fruitarian background has any insight I would appreciate it because I’m ready to return to a mostly fruitarian diet again.

OP
E

Ellycat11

Hello!
No I haven’t gotten my B12 level tested, is this something I should supplement with?

Since trying pro metabolic I’ve only really used Vit E and only recently serrapeptase on occasion.

unsubscribed

Hey Ellycat :)

Coming from a fruitarian diet it may be a bit bumpy for a while but if you’re getting your animal based nutrients in the form of Organs etc, you may come right.
Also, perhaps stop with the dairy for a couple weeks and see how you feel then reintroduce very slowly and monitor? :)
Sluggish digestion is a rabbit hole no doubt and if things over time aren’t improving, it probably wouldn’t hurt to have some blood tests to perhaps point you in a direction.

tankasnowgod

Has anyone struggled with developing pre existing GERD when switching from either a vegan or fruitarian diet back to eating dairy, eggs and protein? I’ve been eating pro metabolic for 7 months.