Thyroid Storm-need Advice

i spent the night in the ER and left this morning after my vitals were fine. The doctor was hesitant to confirm it because thyroid levels were "normal" but I absolutely know I had some sort of thyroid storm from way too much thyroid hormone. Last week I had labs done and an endo told me I should NOT be on thyroid hormone so I've stopped all supplementation for 4 days now since that. But I am experiencing psychosis, high blood pressure/racing heart rate, high blood sugar, dehydration, etc. this is truly awful. I made a big mistake. I was cleared and given Ativan and felt quite well, but it has worn off and I am not sleeping much at all. Pulse is 92 bpm so not that high, but has been up to 105ish. I've read it takes 5-7 for half of t4 to leave the system so I just need to be patient. Any advice is appreciated. Embarassing and dumb. But I need some support from you guys right now.

FredSonoma

I'm no expert but eat a LOT!!!!! Just stuff food down your face till you fall asleep lol

Sheik

I've been there. Not the ER but the doctor, and panicking, having taken too much thyroid. I'm not really sure what to suggest. Maybe do something else. Check out this blog: Barking Up The Wrong Tree

He writes about ways to improve your life and backs it up with science. That always makes me feel better about life. It's very motivating.

jaguar43

What thyroid are you specifically on.

Peata

It it's any consolation, that heart rate does not sound that high to me. Mine is in the 90s at times during day, and sometimes 100s on regular days. (Was up to about 120 when I had it checked at doctor a couple weeks ago, some of that could have been because I was at the doctor - "white coat syndrome?")

Blood Pressure is good all the time though.

What is your BP?

postman

If youre trying to push down thyroid function raw cabbage juice would be a good choice.

OP
N
Thanks everyone. I've done 3 things that have helped so far: