Thyroid questions and theories....

aliciahere

Hey Everybody,

I have some questions and theories about my thyroid right now and I wanted to pass them by everybody. I'm pretty new to the RP world, like so many others coming from Paleo. I've been trying to incorporate RP into my diet for about two weeks now.

I was diagnosed hypothyroid in my early 20's, and celiac this past April. I was diagnosed celiac after a horrible gluten challenge that really messed me up. In particular one thing that has happened that has not gone away is swelling and pain and ache-ness around my thyroid. What is a bit odd about this is I have had an ultrasound (in May) and while my thyroid is atrophied, it visibly sticks out on my throat. If it's atrophied, why would it stick out? It's like I have a large lump on my throat in the shape of a butterfly :shock: The area around my thyroid is very sensitive, and tender and sometimes painful. Sometimes my muscles in my neck are achy. Sometimes the inside of my throat is sore, but most of the time it appears that my trachea is very tender, both below my thyoid and above it. The area around my saliva gland is also very tender and the texture of the tissue seems *squishy*, like it's damaged. My naturopath thinks that it's my lymph nodes that are causing the pain, due to an old infection. The lymph nodes were also included in the ultrasound and didn't appear to be enlarged or inflamed. Thyroid bloodwork is quite normal, my last TSH: 0.83, FT3 and FT4 all within range. I still do have hypothyroid symptoms (low temps, low libedo, etc...). I do suspect that I am estrogen dominant (last bloodwork - Prolactin: 12.0 (<25); Progesterone: 2.4 (they don't have a range for mid-cycle); LH: 11.8 (30-100); Estradiol: 1345 (550-1950). I'm gonna get tested again at the beginning of November.

Theories/questions: