Thyroid hormone

dukez07

A thread for newbies.

For those of us who know nothing about thyroid hormone.

I read about t3 and t4. Do you get one drug that represents t3 and t4? Or would you get many, many drugs that represent both t3 and t4? If that is the case, which one is best? I would obviously chose the best thing at my disposal to try and minimise side effects.

So far, I have only come across Triiodothyronine (t3?) and levothyroxine (t4?).

Lastly, which one would you chose? If I am showing signs of hypothyroidism, do I start with t3? Or t4? What differentiates the two of them?

Please correct me, if anything I have stated is wrong. I am a NOOB, and trying to learn as I go along.

paper_clips43

Here are some responses to other email from Ray Peat that another poster put on my thread. It really helped me understand more about which form of Thyroid to take.

"THYROID (DOSE/BRANDS)

Are there any combination products, such as Thyrolar or Cynoplus, that you can get in Spain? It's good to start with a small amount, such as 5 mcg of T3 twice a day, while watching for changes in your pulse rate, temperature, and ability to sleep. Half a grain of Armour, or about 30 mcg of T4 and 7.5 mcg of T3, is traditionally a common starting dose; it should be taken with a meal, so that it absorbs slowly. Taking a very small amount at bedtime usually helps with insomnia.

Try a sixth of a 25 mcg cynomel tablet at first, and watch for the effects in the first two hours. According to what you notice, you could continue that once a day, or twice a day, for about 10 days, then you could try some with each meal, for another week. #2 and #3: when you find out how the T3 affects you, you could change to the combination (Armour or Thyrolar or Cynoplus); the amounts I mentioned would be similar to 12 mcg of T3 per day.

It depends on what you notice from taking a small amount with meals. If it makes you feel pleasant, calm, confident, then trying it at bedtime would be right.