Thyroid Blood And Iron Works

Fil72

Hi, I hope someone could enlighten me on these blood tests.
Test done Nov 16
TSH 3.73 (inFeb 17 it gone down to 1.55)
Free T4 16.1
Free T3 4.3

This is a client of mine and as I am just starting to treat clients (I'm a Nutritional Therapist) but before I go head with making reccomendations I would really appreciate some input from this forum.
She takes a daily does of 50mg of levothyroxine (every other day she takes 75mg). She says her doctor has said it's autoimune thyrodism which I take it as being Hashimotos?
Her Serum Ferritin iron levels are low - 11 (22-275) and according to her doctor and she should supplement with iron.
She gets very tired after eating even a small meal. And she also is allergic to dust and her immune system is generally low and she gets coughs and colds very easily.

Some thoughts on where how to start? Her diet is lacking dairy and fruit..

Many thanks,

Last edited:

aguilaroja

[QUOTE="Fil72, post: 223365, member: 4744"TSH 3.73 (inFeb 17 it gone down to 1.55)
Free T4 16.1 Free T3 4.3
This is a client of mine and as I am just starting to treat clients (I'm a Nutritional Therapist) ...
She takes a daily does of 50mg of levothyroxine (every other day she takes 75mg)...
Her Serum Ferritin iron levels are low - 11 (22-275) and according to her doctor and she should supplement with iron.
She gets very tired after eating even a small meal. And she also is allergic to dust a... and she gets coughs and colds very easily.[/QUOTE]

The low ferritin report is concerning. It is not easy for iron stores to sink low in a well nourished person. It raises questions of nutrient intake and absorption, appetite, even blood loss. For a female who is still cycling, menstrual flow, and its metabolic/hormonal relation, may also be a factor in iron stores. If iron is low, other nutrient factors may also be low, even basic ones like protein.