Throat Pain In Hypothyroidism?

Xisca

Are they signs of thyroid problem?
Any way I have done some new labs for thyroid, after 2 years...
But I start to think that I have pain due to thyroid.
Here are the signs:
- Soreness in my throat, on the 2 sides of the apple, more or less also where i can feel the arterial pulse.
- And some chronic sore throat inside, I mean this is lower than amigdalitis.
- And also I relate it to the fact that I am not good at swallowing and can also be bothered here.
- Stress makes me feel a pain in the throat, more acutely, as a needle crossing the throat.
- I am sensitive as if somebody could harm me there.

And I have met a friend who has a starting hashimoto who has the same sensations! Actually we were only speaking about gluten-free diet, then I asked her if she had thought about being hypothyroid; and she told me she just leqrned she was!
I have also done anyway the antibody search for hashimoto too.

marsaday

This is a very common problem. The thyroid gland will enlarge as it tries to put out more hormone. The gland is failing to make enough hormone and so this is a possible way it will react. Low iodine can also cause the same thing to happen.

This causes pressure to build, issues with swallowing etc.

Definitely get your bloods checked.

Waynish

The only time I get thyroid discomfort is when I take: t3, t4, a mix of t3 & t4, NDT, selenium, or iodine. Can't really tell which creates more discomfort...

OP
Xisca

Xisca

So, I was misled by my mother's scar, and everybodys', as it is much lower!
Do they do the surgery from BELOW the gland?

This is a very common problem. The thyroid gland will enlarge as it tries to put out more hormone. The gland is failing to make enough hormone and so this is a possible way it will react. Low iodine can also cause the same thing to happen.
This causes pressure to build, issues with swallowing etc.
Definitely get your bloods checked.