Thoughts On Daily Chocolate As A Major Source Of Nutrition

Francisco

I’ve been consuming chocolate pretty much every day for the past 4 months. Usually dark chocolate, but I generally prefer the taste of milk chocolate, although it’s hard to find good milk chocolate. The only place I can find good milk chocolate is Whole Foods, and that’s a bit of drive from where I live, so I don’t go there often. I often eat chocolate by the bar (3oz or so in each bar). I like chocolate because it tastes great, has a lot of important nutrients, and is calorically-dense, which is important to someone on a budget such as myself. I also recognize there might be some downsides to consuming chocolate every day as a primary source of calories. Oxalates are the first thing that I can think of. I don’t know too much about oxalates except that they bind certain minerals. Chocolate is also very high in iron and has a poor phorsphorus/calcium ratio. I think the oxalates bind to a lot of the iron making it safer though, but I’m not sure. Do oxalates bind to all minerals? If so, then that would make the magnesium, copper, zinc in chocolate basically worthless right? Am I missing anything here?

redsun