Thoughts on combining machine learning and bioenergetics?

EnergeticLeo

I've been thinking about this a lot recently, since I'm a programmer by trade, with an interest in stats and machine learning (ML).
I have a sense that there is huge untapped potential in the combination of the metabolic view of health and ML.

More health-tech companies I don't think have a coherent view of health, and narrowly focus on things like genes, drug discovery, calorie tracking etc... I haven't yet seen a company providing a service that is inspired by bioenergetic view.

haidut mentioned there was a thread here a while ago about someone making an app that uses ML to predict thyroid status based on symptoms.

What are people's thoughts?

challenger

Machine learning requires vast amounts of input data to produce reliable or useful outputs. I think in theory the potential is definitely there for creating a good system, but there’s not many metrics that you could test frequently enough to train the AI in a reasonable amount of time. If you were to focus on thyroid health you would likely have to test your levels multiple times per day as well as log your diet and activity rigorously. It’s not really attainable with current commercially available tech.

I’ve seen some diet apps(MacroFactor, RP diet) get around this by using their entire user base to predict common interactions between energy intake and weight fluctuations. That system seems to be quite successful, but calorie logging is a much simpler process to begin with.

Perhaps systems such as consistent glucose monitoring using CGM devices could better lend itself to machine learning applications with the larger inflow of data.
As cortisol increases blood glucose, you could probably build a system that used blood glucose as a proxy for stress levels while taking into account the impact of your meals and using machine learning to remove the noise that eating introduces.

Would definitely be a cool project.

piro444