Thiamine Pyrophosphate (Benfotiamine)

managing

Experiences, thoughts, studies? I can't find RP addressing specifically. Pyrophosphate is key in osteblast activity, but not sure if it makes it to the bones intact?

Poppyseed13

Hello Managing--

I have been experimenting with benfotiamine for several months now.

I want to see if benfotiamine has any beneficial effects on my skin. Since I was quite young, I have hard skin on parts of my body.... I suspect some form of myxedema.

Thomas Hodge McGavack's book _The Thyroid_ helped me make some guesses about the causes of myxedema (hardening of the skin, etc.)

In brief: myxedema is associated with an excess of mucopolysaccharides, including _hyaluronic acid_ .... reading/research led me to:

Thiamine deficiency (among other things) results in lower levels of hyaluronidase ...Hyaluronidase is need to break down hyaluronic acid.

So, assuming that I might have a deficiency of thiamine (B-1) (the transketolase test is not something my doctor would help me with), I started taking a fairly large daily dose of regular B-1. And upon further research discovered that regular thiamine is hard for the body to absorb, so I looked for forms of thiamine that would be more bioavailable, and that led me to benfotiamine.

I started out with a low dose of benfotiamine (300 mg), and am now taking 900 mg/daily---3 doses spread throughout the day. I have noticed considerable improvement in my skin--the hardness is dissipating---slowly, but steadily. Additionally, I have noticed a great reduction in body stiffness/achiness--it seems to function as an anti-inflammatory (ibuprofen).

I will continue to take benfotiamine along with regular thiamine as I am hopeful of complete remission of the hard skin.

I use Doctor's Best Benfotiamine and Source Naturals High Potency B-1

Cheers,
Poppyseed13

so after reading/researching, I think there is a link between

OP
managing

managing