Taurine Topical

Dhair

Since taurine is apparently a very effective treatment for hair loss but it can cause some unwanted side effects when taken orally in large doses, I'd like to ask advice on how to create a topical solution (@haidut ?). I'm not very good at dealing with substances or research chemicals as far as making products are concerned, nor am I experienced with using an amino acid with topical application.
Anyone know where I could get started? I'm afraid I'd probably need step-by-step instructions and Google isn't usually too helpful with these things because everyone has a different opinion.

milk_lover

divide the weight of taurine in grams by the weight of water in grams and that is what a concentration is. For example, if you dissolve 1g of taurine in 100ml of water (which is roughly 100g of water), you get taurine solution concentration of 1%.

Now let's say we have this 1% solution, how much taurine you're getting depends on how much solution you use. For example, if you splash 50ml of the solution on your hair, you're getting 0.5 grams of taurine.

Last edited:
OP
D

Dhair

divide the weight of taurine in grams by the weight of water in grams and that is what a concentration is. For example, if you dissolve 1g of taurine in 100ml of water (which is roughly 100g of water), you get taurine solution concentration of 1%.

Now let's say we have this 1% solution, how much taurine you're getting depends on how much solution you use. For example, if you splash 50ml of the solution on your hair, you're getting 0.5 grams of taurine.
Thank you! Simple enough.
I feel really stupid now. :(

TubZy

I would be interested too. It would be so much easier buying an already made product dissolved in a good vehicle.

milk

Taurine dissolves well in water.

I just put 1g taurine in a glass with a little water, stir it a bit and apply it to the scalp.