Taurine Causing Depression

walker_in_aus

I have been using taurine for a few months and it truly has removed my residual anxiety and any depression. Resilient! My partner has been complaining of brain fog, lack of energy, inability to concentrate and bad hayfever so I'm slowly suggesting things for him to try. Starting with Energin, k2 in the morning with his coffee, estroban, stopping him from taking panadol and taking aspirin instead, trying to get him to try cypro regularly (chemist told him to take three a day and he could barely move from the sedative effect so it put him off. what is wrong with pharmacists, 3 a day!!??!). Feeding him more fruit and dairy, he is a very warm energetic healthy skinned guy with no hairloss at 30 so generally he's pretty well. He wanted more brain help so I was like, ok try L-Theanine. Took that for two weeks and said he was focusing better. I ten said well add taurine in as it's magical for a lot of stuff, mainly liver health.

Within a day he spiralled into the worst depression - like not sad, just blank about everything and really irritable.

He is doing some soul searching about his job but this was crazy bad, I've been with him for 8 years and I've never seen him so empty of anything other than mild irritation. Taurine has been a godsend for me and lots of people I know and I'm a bit baffled as to how it's affecting him, only taking a quarter of a teaspoon in the morning with K2 and organic coffee?

I know taking single aminos can cause imbalances in others, but that quickly? And has anyone else experienced this?

DaveFoster

1/4 tsp is around 2 grams, which is a reasonable amount. Maybe it's an allergy, or possibly a catatoxic reaction, as taurine can detoxify the liver.

Functional evolution of the pregnane X receptor