Super weird blood labs... Vitamin D over 100ng/ml, Trigs 345!

RealNeat

What in the world is going on, this is quite the mystery.

I eat a very high dairy diet, milk, cream cheese, cheese etc

But I BARELY supplement vitamin D. Sometimes I'll supplement 2-5000 IU transdermally for like a week and then stop. In no way shape or form am I religious enough nor do I take a high enough dose for 100ng/ml?!

My cholesterol and trigs are high. Cholesterol above 270 and trigs in the mid 300's.

As a cherry on top I live in Minnesota, super cold and I work in an office with minimal sunlight exposure all summer previous to this winter.

Let's brainstorm...

OP
RealNeat

RealNeat

I'll put some more context to this as I'm working in a cohesive theory.

1. I am slightly overweight and the extra fat likely has some impact on everything, but I've been eating low PUFA for many years. It's mainly because I'm very sedentary and probably still slightly hypo with tsh around 1.9.

2. The day I took my bloodwork I had eaten a roast beef sandwich with high oleic corn chips and a side of yoghurt. This was about 2.5 hours before the blood draw.

3. I take transdermal vitamin D vigorously rubbed into inner elbows, WHEN I take it, which isn't often. I usually take ~10,000 IU a day TRANSDERMAL. The idea is that only 10-20% gets absorbed, maybe in my case it's much more, even though the last time I took D was like a month before blood draw and I only applied for like a week.

3. My liver enzymes are very slightly elevated, I don't pay much mind to low fat or carb as long as I'm eating clean sources and saturated fat. That's probably giving rise to a lot of issues through the Randle cycle and insulin sensitivity. Likely a fatty liver.

Waiting on T results to see any hormonal abnormalities.

I'll put some more context to this as I'm working in a cohesive theory.