Strange effect from niacinamide

Melba

After reading about the health benefits of niacinamide I thought I would try it , I took a 500mg tablet in the morning and for the rest of the day I kept going to sleep, it felt like I had been drugged. I stopped taking it for a few days ,then took it before bed thinking this should be a good sleep aid but to my dismay I could not sleep at all I was wide awake all night.
any idea what is going on with me or the niacinamide?

I am no niacinimide expert, but 500 mg seems like a high amount, especially to be starting. I take 100 mg and I have heard others taking 200 mg.

youngsinatra

Niacinamide can seriously deplete methyl groups, which is why some feel worse on it. (flat mood or even depression)

Adding in trimethylglycine in a 1:1 ratio with niacinamide seems to alleviate that problem.

P

Peatness

In addition to what has already been said 500mg would tank your blood sugar. At that dose you would have needed a large amount of food/sugar. It is also an antifungal perhaps some sort of die off?

OP
M

Melba

I do have bouts of low blood sugar, not aware of any fungal issues, methyl groups I know nothing of
I have not seen niacinamide supplements with less than 500mg, if dosage is what caused sleep during the day & insomnia at night I think this would be a common problem but not heard or read of anyone suffering the same, maybe it's just me.

I do have bouts of low blood sugar, not aware of any fungal issues, methyl groups I know nothing of
I have not seen niacinamide supplements with less than 500mg, if dosage is what caused sleep during the day & insomnia at night I think this would be a common problem but not heard or read of anyone suffering the same, maybe it's just me.
Another RPF poster had your same issue....

OP
M

Melba

Thanks for the link, I figured out that the high dose messed with my circadian clock

OP
M

Melba