Should everyone take hormone supplements?

cout12

Is hormone supplements something that everyone should take to stay healthy? Is it only to fix acute problems? Is there a guide or something? I tried to search for it but I didn't even really know what keywords to use. I also only understand really dumbed down articles.

tara

I have not used thyroid supps, so I have no experience with this, just what I've read from Peat and here. I do use progesterone. I am not an expert, and have not yet solved my key problems. But here is how it seems to me.

The way it seems to me, probably some people get a lot more benefits from hormone supplements than others, and some people don't need any supps, at least at some times of their lives.

There have been estimates from 5-40% of (US?) population being hypothyroid, and some of these need thyroid supps to be reasonably well. Monitoring body temperature and pulse, along with symptoms, can help figure this out. If you happen to have had blood tests for the various thyroid hormones, this can give relevant info too. You'd want the actual results, not just a dr's assessment that they are 'normal'.

A lot of women seem to get estrogen dominance going on at some part of our lives, and some men do too. Progesterone can help with that. Men who supplement usually use less than women.

Some people can improve both conditions significantly by diet. If you are considering supplementing, it's good to make sure you're eating a diet that will support improved metabolism anyway, so may as well start with that, and then see if more is needed.