Saturated Fat Improves My Verbal Fluency

stsfut

I could describe my issues as a stutter but more accurately I would say I lack verbal fluency. I have noticed after having saturated fat (beef, butter, etc) I become much more verbally fluent. Taking thyroid medication also has been a huge help to it. I wish I could get to the bottom of my fluency issues. It can be downright difficult for me to talk at times. I have a great job and a master’s degree as well, so I don’t doubt my intelligence.

Anders86

Great! I struggle myself. Will be making some latte with Cacao butter to try out. Changed my diet to very high carb this week and I find I continously search for words.. I know that GABA helps, like Niacinamide. But that would interfere with fatloss .

RobertJM

I think it's GABA related. Whenever I have abused GABAergic compounds (I'm talking drugs), and I inevitably endure the withdrawal period that follows, I can really trip over my words and I become on the fringes of stutters. Sometimes I can't even get a word out and I either have to avoid the word and change direction in what I am saying, or I just abandon it and take 5 minutes.

Drinking too much coffee (which I also do each day), can also aggravate this state for me. But taking taurine at the same time helps a lot.

Back in the day when I used to take piracetam, and the stuff made me hypomanic, my verbal fluency was off the scale (well, that was my personal interpretation of it at the time, haha). Piracetam is supposed to enhance how the left and right areas of the brain work together.

OP
S

stsfut

Great! I struggle myself. Will be making some latte with Cacao butter to try out. Changed my diet to very high carb this week and I find I continously search for words.. I know that GABA helps, like Niacinamide. But that would interfere with fatloss .
I would like to try Cacao butter sometimes. Seems very Peaty and very tastey :)