Restoring Levels Of Magnesium

Velve921

How long does it take to typically restore magnesium in the body? And can anyone explain the testing results when you measure red blood cell magnesium?

I've been doing 1-2 epsom salt baths a day for 9 months with 1-4lbs a bath (depending on training that day).

In advance thanks for all advice!

Happy Holidays Everyone!

johns74

I read that copper helps to retain magnesium. Liver is a good source of copper.

treelady

Just a couple notes I have on magnesium-
- Coffee is high in magnesium :)
- Too much VITAMIN C CAN CAUSE MAGNESIUM DEFICIENCY
- High doses of Vitamin D can unmask an underlying magnesium deficiency
- Magnesium is typically deficient in hypothyroidism
- Sodium helps with retaining magnesium

I take magnesium taurate supplements. I muscle test to see if my body wants it. An overdose will cause diarrhea, for me anyway. I also use magnesium chloride oil and sometimes epsom salt baths. Since on the Peatish diet my body is wanting less magnesium supplelments, maybe it's the coffee?

johns74

treelady said:
- Too much VITAMIN C CAN CAUSE MAGNESIUM DEFICIENCY

Interesting. Vitamin C increases endogenous oxalic acid, which can be eliminated as magnesium oxalate. Maybe that's why.

treelady

johns74 said:
treelady, what's a muscle test?

I got this from Donna Eden years ago..
- Put the item to be tested on your solarplex (right below rib cage)
- Relax and don't think about an outcome
- If your body likes it, you will lean forward
- If your body doesn't like it, it will lean back
- It may waffle from side to side trying to decide or it may just wait and suddenly make a decision
- If it doesn't do anything, it doesn't care
- The answer you get is for "now" and you could get a different answer later