Reishi, Mast Cells Stabilization, Estrogen And Nitric Oxide

Hi All,

I'm new to Peating and wanted to get a better handle on Reishi and how it fits into the bigger picture. I started taking Reishi a while back for a host of reasons but mainly for its anti inflammatory and mast cell stabilizing properties (due to histamine issues). Since discovering Ray Peat Ive done a little reading (emphasis on the word 'little') and understand that you don't want to ingest anything that does the following: Increases Nitric Oxide, estrogen and serotonin or / inhibits the cytochrome P450 enzymes / causes the cells to accumulate calcium (is this correct?)

From the few studies/article Ive read it seems that Reishi fails on the first count:

This suggests it increases NO in macrophages as part of its anticancer mechanism?
http://en.cnki.com.cn/Article_en/CJFDTOTAL-YAOL200412018.htm
Also . .
A unique beta-glucan from the mycelium enhanced the production of nitric oxides from macrophages but decreased other free radicals and the collateral harm they cause to healthy cells. (Han et al. 1998; Li et al. 2000; Zhou and Gao 2002).

But this one seems to suggest Reishi protects against overproduction of NO
Ganoderma lucidum inhibits inducible nitric oxide synthase expression in macrophages - Springer

As far as estrogen goes this study suggests that Reishi is estrogenic
Estrogen-like activity of ethanol extract of Ganoderma lucidum - Springer

Im not sure if I am interpreting these correctly and so any insights/ interpretations you guys have on Reishi and how it fits into the big picture, would be greatly received.

probably true -- it inhibits NO, and is a phytoestrogen.

Sometimes it's worth it though. Depends on the cost-benefit analysis.

For instance, this is true of quercetin, but there may be benefit to it outweighing the bad (estrogenic activity).

OP
whitepapercrane
probably true -- it inhibits NO, and is a phytoestrogen.