Recovering "used up" cartilage ?

burtlancast

OP
FitnessMike

FitnessMike

I have no way to know.

But keep in mind my horsetail infusion contains other beneficial chemicals, like
Vit K.

And it's dirt cheap.
Next time i will make infusion.

I wonder whether silica is something that is often missing in the diet.

burtlancast

Dave Clark

OSA is what is the most bioavailable: Biological and therapeutic effects of ortho-silicic acid and some ortho-silicic acid-releasing compounds: New perspectives for therapy - Nutrition & Metabolism
Dennis Crouse, a retired chemist from Harvard wrote books on silica, and how to make silica water at home for pennies. I use to buy BioSil and others, but I have been making Silicade for about 5 years now for pennies to the gallon. Here is his recipe link:

im a little bit baffled now as cartilages are mostly made of type 2 collagen, and gelatine is type 1/3, wouldn't be worth getting also type 2 collagen source ot it doesn't really matter as much?
I’m still a bit confused about the detains of collagen too Mike. As with other supplements, it can cause problems. I know the powders are higher in heavy metals from using bones and boiling them too long. This is why I use cartilage bones and skin, as RP suggests, to make mine, and do a short boil, about 2 hours now for chicken and under 5 hours for my beef bone broth. It am thinking bone broth and the powdered forms is akin to “like cures like” situation. Boiling skin helps the skin, boiling cartilage repairs cartilage and boiling bones builds bones..