Rebound Insomnia From Quetiapine Withdrawal

eight

I was put on quetiapine about a month ago at a dose of 200mg for symptoms of mania. I was on the drug involuntarily for 3 weeks, before dropping it over the period of a week as soon I was given control over dosing.
I did so without the supervision of my doctor because I was mistrustful of him.

It's been 3 days since I got off the quetiapine and I've been unable to sleep. Before, I'd sleep like a log for 8 hours a night.

What has happened to me, mechanistically? Is my body going to be able to readjust without returning to the drug? If not, why?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

L Cothren

I have no direct experience with Seroquel(quetiapine), as Ativan was my drug of choice for many years, but I do know that with all mood-altering drugs there is a withdrawal phase that can cause awful rebound insomnia. Generally, after the withdrawal period your body and brain should return to the pre-drug state, and it will be from a few days to a few weeks, depending on how long you have been on the medication.

Unfortunately, none of these drugs will actually heal what ails you, but they can be powerful and helpful aids in the short term.

mujuro

I've plenty of experience with quetiapine. This insomnia shouldn't last more than a week. I give it 2 weeks max. Quetiapine for mania is not a common prescription, as the gold standard for mania is lithium, which has far fewer side effects and carries quite a few pro-Peat properties concerning mitochondrial function. Quetiapine is more for sleep and depression, as it corrects glucocorticoid signaling.

Frankdee20

The sleep inducing effect of seriquel comes from its strong histamine blockade

johnsmith